Extra Credit – Feedback

What did you think of the A-B-C format? I thought the A-B-C format was simple and effective. It was an easy way to keep us on track of what activities were to come and what we were expected of each week. I appreciate the way it feels like the course has an appropriate beginning, middle and end. The weeks of A allow you time to meet your classmates and prepare for the semester. The B weeks are filled with a nice variety of activities to experience and the two weeks of C allow for just the right amount of time to reflect on the semester.

 

What did you think of the 4 messy hands activities? The 4 messy hands activities are a lot of fun! My favorite was plaster casting because I had never done that before and it was a lot of fun. I also enjoyed that the location was pretty close and that mostly everyone was able to go since it was during our normal class time. I think having 4 very different hands on activities was a good amount and served a nice variety. Just a thought and I don’t know if it would be effective, but if there are more activities that you wish there was time for maybe you could have two a week and the students could pick one. This way the class is exposed to more than just four hands on activities.

 

What did you think of the 4 life design activities? I liked the 4 life design activities and I thought they were very relevant to the world today. Getting the opportunity to create a website was a great experience and it is something that I will possibly use for dance more in the future when I have more choreography to show. Vlogging has become a huge thing and although it’s not for me, being able to experience it and go for it was really fun.

 

What did you think of the student choice and one more activity? I LOVED the student choice and one more activity. I thought it was really helpful for student choice to be mixed in the middle of the semester so you have some Art 110 activities to be inspired by as you pick your student choice. I also love that our last activity is open to our creativity because as a student, I was able to see my work reflect on how this class has impacted my thought process as a choreographer and for any student, they are able to reflect and see that growth.

 

What did you think of visiting the SOA galleries, having a conversation with them and blogging about it? I really enjoyed visiting the SOA galleries to talk to the different artists and write about it. This was something I often looked forward to and really enjoyed becoming exposed to the visual art on our campus. It was very neat to get to talk to the artists and learn from them!! Going to the SOA galleries about every week was a lot, although I enjoyed it, I think some students thought it got repetitive. Maybe the assignment involved with visiting the SOA galleries could switch up more, like the 2 times we were asked to write a story instead. Maybe the conversation topic with the artist could change or the way we write about them is different throughout the weeks.

 

What did you think about the class website and having your own website instead of beachboard? I love the class website and how we are able to see the pictures you take and other students work sometimes. I enjoyed completing the assignments on wordpress but beachboard would work too. It would also be helpful to have the semester schedule on beachboard along with the class website.

 

What did you think of using wordpress for your blog? I enjoyed using wordpress for my blog and thought it was valuable to become exposed to working with a blog site like wordpress. It was easy to set up and I love that you can download an app and access your blog easily from your phone.

 

What did you think of Wix for your eportfolio? I had trouble at first using wix and the website crashed a few times in the making of my website which was frustrating but once I was able to complete it, I was happy with it. Learning how to create your own website was an important skill that I was happy to be exposed to.

 

What did you think of the guest speakers? The guest speakers were super cool and it was beneficial to hear from the people themselves about ways we can take advantages of the opportunities on campus. Hearing from 22 west and the study abroad person was my favorite because It applied to opportunities I am interested in. We did have a lot of guest speakers, and your lectures were always my favorite, so maybe narrowing down the guest speakers or having some come in on the same day would be helpful to get to hear more of your lectures.

 

What did you think of the times in class when we took time to meet new classmates? How many Art110 peeps did you know before the class started? How many do you know now?

I love that this class is big on meeting new classmates!! I did not know anyone before the class started and quickly, at the beginning of the semester I already felt like I had friends. I now am close friends with taylor and I met hops, toty, kyle and his group of friends all because of this class!!

 

What did you think about having a class with no tests? I LOVED not having any tests and not just because I hate taking tests. I really found it beneficial to steam outside of the typical class where you memorize info for a test just to forget it the next day. I can honestly say I learned more in this class with no tests than my other two GE classes with tests. It was way more effective to learn and get to blog about your experience than fill out a scantron with only one right answer. In this class, I felt that there was no wrong answer just room to grow and share or learn from others.

 

Any other thoughts? This class by far has been my favorite class I have taken at CSULB. Even on top of my dance classes! There is something about the way you teach that inspires creative thinking throughout the whole room. Your lectures are all very effective and you make each student feel like they have a creative side. You open up our minds to see that art is for everyone, not just those that consider themselves artists. I really could go on forever, but honestly, I really appreciate you class and wish I could take it again! Your creative way of teaching has impacted the way I think about school and life in general. You have also greatly influenced me as an artist by exposing me to visual art and inspiring me to create movement based on visual art. THANK YOU for the best semester ever, you are the coolest.

 

One thought on “Extra Credit – Feedback

Leave a comment